Quote of the day

March 25, 2009 at 7:37 am | Posted in Gay Rights | Leave a comment

I’ve heard the argument that this debate isn’t just about sexuality; that what we’re talking about now is the need for children to be brought up with certain gender roles filled. I’ve been told that a child needs a mother and a father to be okay, to be happy, to be educated and to be brought up right. I completely disagree, and on my own behalf, I know that if I were to have a child, I would do my best to make him or her a positive influence on the community. I would pack them a lunch, and always put a cookie or a brownie in to brighten their day. I would drop them off at soccer practice, or choir, or dance, or anything they wanted to do. I would sing them to sleep, I would push them on the swings, and when they were little, I would let them win races by no more than a centimeter. I would raise them the exact same way my amazing parents raised me. I would raise them to be no one but themselves, and I would raise them to respect the same in others.

James Neiley, 17 years old, testifying in favour of gay marriage in the state of Vermont.

[Video here]

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

